Skip to main content

Posts

I'm a blogger

Recent posts

Achievement Unlocked

I have achieved my lifelong dream of being FREE to open my big fat mouth in public and speak my mind as I see fit without consequence though I'm sometimes perceived as rude, crude and socially unacceptable and I'm generally too truthful to be good. All you have to do is leave all social media, have no traffic, no engagement and no audience and THEN you can say ANYTHING you want! You have no idea how hard I have worked for years and years to reach this glorious plateau. Wow, what rarified air!

Losing my religion

Michael Stipe, lead singer for R.E.M., has said the song is not about religion. The phrase is a Southern expression and I think it's probably more or less a polite euphemism for losing my shit. Since writing that piece, it has occurred to me it probably also means forgetting my manners . The Deep South is very religious and famously polite as Ugly Americans go and religion and manners are seen as related in the Deep South. So I think one meaning for the phrase is getting so upset with someone you fail to be polite and respectful as is generally expected from people where I come from. You drop your Sunday Best behavior and go off on someone.

Language Stuff

I wrote a post called Dagu Dagu Dagu . Dagu is a word from some African language and probably the best English explanation is "spreading news by word of mouth." You might translate it as "the grapevine." I don't even know which African language it's from. I just know trivia about language sticks with me, so I'm a wealth of knowledge about language, yet wholly incapable of speaking anything fluently, often English included. I'm medically handicapped and sometimes just sound like a blithering idiot. If I'm physically stressed out enough, I lapse into German -- though my German is TERRIBLE -- and I sometimes CAN'T speak English for an hour or so. I've made a few stabs at talking about my relationship to language learning and recently tried to make a compendium of that here . I'm going to try again to give people some idea of how I'm a sponge for language stuff yet I'm not fluent in anything, probably not even English. I grew up i...

Random Data

Social encounter moments ago: "Where are your brothers?" A little back and forth. She guesses they are twenty or twenty five and tells me I look thirty. I tell her they are in their thirties, I'm SIXTY and they are my sons. Seemingly genuine shock ensues.

Dear Diary

As noted elsewhere , Arnold Schwarzenegger is kind of an animus figure for me. He's a symbol of my career self  Maybe two or three days ago on March 9th or 10th, I had some variation of this Terminator 2 scene in my head where he's basically going "Give me your clothes."  And I think that's like my future career self demanding my clothing line ideas from my skank ass ugly homeless self. I'm not putting this here for "you," whomever the hell you may be. I effectively have no audience. This is a note for ME and it's probably stupid because our idiot POTUS is about to start World War III, probably for incredibly stupid reasons like McDonald's got his order wrong. So none of us has a future. Thanks, moron!

Strike the Pose

I recently tripped across this video: Elektra's stilleto bootcamp The character's name is Elektra Abundance or Elektra Wintour from a TV series called Pose  that I had not previously heard of. Of course because I watched it and tried to identify the source, YouTube then began spamming me with clips from the show.  The actress is Dominique Jackson. Wikipedia says: She experienced a traumatic upbringing that included bullying and sexual abuse . due to her transgender identity.  A lot of the clips I'm seeing are very confrontational and uncomfortable to watch. And then I tripped across a clip about Elektra getting evicted from her mother's house and I noped out when her mother becomes physically abusive and turned my attention to adding new content to a trans resource I quietly run but don't in any way promote.  I also run The Genevieve Files , an LGBTQ resource started because the LGBTQ community is at high risk of homelessness   and Formulary of Life , a HRT s...

Accusations I talk too much may not be crazy talk

I don't even participate anymore nor hang there. Still top 0.01 percent. Oh my god. And my other handle, retired YEARS ago -- last comment is 27 November 2017, last submission is 29 November 2017 -- still top 0.p2 percent.  That's the first and second woman on the leaderboard of this sausagefest. And when I was tracking such things, I intentionally tried to talk less and post articles instead. I got about half my karma from articles, not comments. No one really wants a woman on Hacker News. Except Dan Gackle and maybe that egalitarian fool Paul Graham who designed YC around his then girlfriend whom he eventually married and, back when Twitter was still Twitter, sometimes posted hypotheses about how to more effectively promote women founders. The title is tongue in cheek. No one is telling that rat bastard Thomas STFU, you talk too much. But let a WOMAN run her mouth something like half as much: Bitch talks too much. Go clack your knitting needles, woman....